Old Fashioned English Grub Rocks

Where Muffins & Cookies are Snubbed

English Cooking April 8, 2008

Filed under: British Puddings — velochick @ 12:55 pm
Tags:

I spoke to a person aged about 60 and another about 21 and talked to them about English Cooking. Naturally the older person said they ‘remember breadpudding’ but I was also surprised that the 21 year old loved breadpudding too. In fact his mother is a very good cook, so much so, he likes cooking now. You would think that all 21 year olds are brought up on burgers and takeaway chinese food, but not all of them.

It’s great to think that bread pud will survive into the next generation. It’s funny how you never see this being offered at restaurants and similar establishments. The Chain Restaurants may want us to scoff American burgers all the time, but some of us, brought up on English cooking, don’t want this. Something different, means perhaps English food! Even my boss who is Indian, wants to bring back English food! I am already given her some of my homemade ginger cake! I eat her curries but she eats my English food! She recognises that we need to bring our culture back, being Indian she needs her culture too.

 

2 Responses to “English Cooking”

  1. enitharmon Says:

    Aha! Found you at last! I think this is a wonderful idea. I’ll give you a link and a heads-up. I could even supply some tips and recipes from the other end of England, if you like.

    The thing that really annoys me is the prevalence of “cookies” and “muffins” – all of which taste thoroughly synthetic to me – when we have such a wonderful tradition of rich, buttery, cakes and biscuits.

  2. velochick Says:

    Well done!

    I am going to have a go at Muffins today on my blog. It feels me feel good to do that!

    Yes, would love some tips and Northern Recipes.. and if poss some piccies.. Maybe you also know some local history about them too. It would be fascinating!


Leave a comment